A Saturday Snapshot: find the kitty

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERADo you see *her?

~*~

*Her name is Miss Kitty and she is one of two kitties we inherited when we bought the Mountain Farmlet.  The kitty boy is named Neville after this fellow!

Neville is even more camera-shy than Miss Kitty, but seems to be well fed.  I will keep trying to get a photo of him and post it if I do.  We are hoping that once we get moved up onto the mountain that they will be less skittish and come around more often.  😉

PS:  The young man down the road is being paid to keep them fed and watered in our absence, so never fear!  😀

42 thoughts on “A Saturday Snapshot: find the kitty

    • Lynda says:

      Kathee, I believe her tail is average, and there is only one kitty there. It is an illusion that she is so long! 😉

      Come to think of it, it could also be the very slow shutter speed. It was a dark and stormy day and the camera took forever to take the shot. However, I couldn’t prove that is what caused the illusion. (???)

    • Lynda says:

      Diana, I was trying to catch her (with the camera) but she is still a bit shy. She only gets to see me a couple of times a week because it is such a long drive.

  1. shoreacres says:

    She’s clearly evaluating the situation. It won’t take her – and her friend – long to make friends once you’re up there all the time. I’m sure of it!

    • Lynda says:

      Hahaha, we are all looking forward to that, Linda. They are getting used to the dogs, but I do worry about how our cats will adjust to them and the new place…

      • shoreacres says:

        Oh, good! Glad to see the comment came through. I’ve been getting weird messages for a few days that my comment couldn’t be posted, so I just haven’t been sure what was going on. I finally saw a note in the WP forums that there was another “bug”, but it looks like they may have gotten it fixed.

        • Lynda says:

          YAY for THAT! I didn’t know that there were problems actually posting comments out there. But then again, I was away from my computer most of the weekend and so wouldn’t have realized. Some of these problems are off-putting, but generally, WordPress seems on top of it.

    • Lynda says:

      Aren’t they, Mary? Usually she is very calm and wants to follow me around, but that day I don’t know if it was all the thunder or that strange thing I was carrying that kept changing the look of my face! (camera)

  2. petspeopleandlife says:

    She apears to be a beautiful orange tabby.Don’t know about the rest of her coat. Those are the markings that I can see of her. She’s between what seems to be two top steps and two bottom steps and I can see most of her head. If she is solid orange that is fairly rare for a female cat to be solid orange. 25% of all orange cats are female. Just a little trivia that I’ve added. 🙂

    Yvonne

    • Lynda says:

      Thanks, Yvonne, I never knew any of that! We have had many orange cats and now that I think of it none of them were female. She is determinately a tabby. If you look between the two bottom steps you can see her ringed tail. 😉

    • Lynda says:

      Tom, fundation man is working his magic, the plumbers are next, and then the electricians. 😉 After that it will be up to us to get the rest in order! Finally, things are happening!

    • Lynda says:

      We are working on it. Neville is seldom seen, but Miss Kitty is definitely wanting to be my friend. She follows me around outside and cries at me until I pet her. Poor baby she is definitely lonely up there since the Octogenarian moved away. 😦

  3. Vicki (from Victoria A Photography) says:

    When do you anticipate moving day might be, Lynda? (or have I missed a posts when you mentioned this)?

    • Lynda says:

      Vicki, we are really not certain. We are trying for “before Christmas.” What we need to get done before we can move in is to get the back portion refurbished. This is the kitchen, breakfast room/pantry, and the laundry/second bath. The laundry/bathroom are being gutted and remodeled because they had the most damage. These repairs to the back of the house entail new plumbing and significant foundation repairs to the underside of the house. This was paid for by a generous discount to the purchase price. It all just takes so much time…

      “The waiting is the hardest part.” T. Petty
      😉

  4. LB says:

    At first I thought I was just blind and unimaginative. Then I enlarged the picture and that eye just popped out! What an awesome shot!!

    • Lynda says:

      Sorry, Linda, just a very busy weekend. That said, I have been finding earnest comments in the spam file, and you are correct, WordPress is messing up! They are letting spam go to the posts, and honest posters go into the abyss! Grrr… 😐

  5. Littlesundog says:

    I hope your menagerie of pets gets along with the newly inherited group. I’m so excited for all that is going on in your life, Lynda! Every post I look forward to the next tidbit to know how it is going!

    • Lynda says:

      OHMYGOODNESS, so do we, Lori! The dogs are pretty much understanding that the new kitties are our new friends… but I do worry about our kitties here and how they will take to the new situation. That back deck and everything you can see in any direction belongs to the Mountain Farmlet Kitty Clan, and I am worried that the fur is quite literally going to FLY! 😦

    • Lynda says:

      And so tiny too, Dianne. She is supposed to be about 5 years old if I am remembering correctly, but she is as small as a “teenager” kitty and well under 10 pounds. 🙂

  6. Erin says:

    Cute! We have an orange tabby too, her name is Kitten. We tried to give her another name, but nothing would stick. She is probably twice the size of yours. Our little guy likes to feed him from his high chair. She eats everything! Outdoor cats are vital to country life! Glad you got some good ones. 🙂

    • Lynda says:

      LOL! Don’t you know the rule? All cats have a minimum of three names, and the first ones never stick. I think it has something to do with how their personalities develop over time. Our first kitty when we got married was adopted from an older lady who had gone into care. She called her “Snowball.” We named her Isis because we hated Snowball. It didn’t take long before she became Poo-der. She always purred and was so loving.

So how about that? Go on; say something!

