Friday Fictioneers: a learned response

Normally, Friday Fictioneers is a 100 word fiction writing based on a photo prompt.  However, today our hostess,  Rochelle at Addicted to Purple,           has included a video with with her FF entry.   I watched it and…

Suddenly I was deep in memory,  four again, and living in California…

~*~*~*~

roiling-cloud-1

In my youth I had a little friend who lived two houses down from me. We had the best of times playing in the back yard.  We spent hours digging under trees, burying treasures, making mud pies and just running and laughing every day.  We were four and the world was wide and ready for exploration, discovery and learning.

However, at the sound of an airplane, my little Korean friend would scream and run in terror to dive beneath a table or chair.  Inside or out it was always the same.

She was inconsolable.

I didn’t understand.

Suddenly, I do.

~*~

WORDS:  100

~*~

And now, Rochell’s shared video

Pink Floyd – Goodbye Blue Sky (London Blitz)

For more Friday Fictioneers takes on the prompt, please click HERE!

OOOH!  an UPDATE

On thinking about today’s post I remembered something my mother said about her terror at the sound of an airplane overhead:

“This is ridiculous behavior.   She isn’t old enough to have experienced the war over there!”

So I went to do some fact checking…

The Korean War began in June 25, 1950 and ended on July 1953.  So, yes, my mother was correct in stating that she could not have experienced the planes and the bombings there.  She and I were only four and born in 1953.  This makes it about 1957 when we met.

However, here is a quote on the Korean War that I found on the History Channel’s website:

The Korean War was relatively short but exceptionally bloody. Nearly 5 million people died. More than half of these–about 10 percent of Korea’s prewar population–were civilians. (This rate of civilian casualties was higher than World War II’s and Vietnam’s.)

In consideration of this information, and the realization of the violence her elders endured, I find it quite plausible for my little friend to have reacted in this way.

The flames are all long gone but the pain lingers on… ~ Pink Floyd

~*~*~*~

Please visit and read more about The Korean War HERE on the History Channel’s Website.

39 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: a learned response

    • Lynda says:

      Thank you, Sandra. It seems with age that I am becoming so brilliantly insightful about the mysteries of my past…
      I do hope that I live long enough to unravel them all! ‘-)

      I’m glad you liked it.

    • Lynda says:

      Thank you, Helena. I added the new information simply because I thought it was so insightful. My confusion over my little friend’s reaction was one thing, but my mother’s response to it was always so confusing. Now I think I understand why my friend acted in the way she did. I wonder if she still feels that fear, or if she was able to overcome it as she got older.

    • Lynda says:

      Dear Rochelle,

      This is most high praise coming from you! I so admire your work.
      And, I must agree, 1953 was a great year!

      Shalom,
      Lynda

  1. shoreacres says:

    I saw the real thing, once. I was living in Berkeley, and a group of us had gone over to San Francisco’s Chinatown to eat dinner and watch the New Year celebrations. We were eating and talking, when suddenly strings of firecrackers went off in the street. A LOT of firecrackers. At their sound, one of the guys dove under the table and huddled there, shaking. He’d been in Viet Nam.

    • Lynda says:

      Oh, how sad!
      I do understand PTSD, though obviously for different reasons. The feelings, the bodies responses are dramatic and overwhelming!

  2. Littlesundog says:

    I agree, this was a post that certainly had me pondering a couple of different explanations. I believe in past lives, so for me, that was the first thing that came to mind. It would be interesting to find your friend after all of this time and discover whether she overcame her fear or not.

    • Lynda says:

      Lori, I have been wondering the same thing this week. Did she ever get over her fear? Sadly, my most vivid memory of her is seeing her crouched behind a big overstuffed chair in their living room and screaming in terror.

  3. aliciajamtaas says:

    Lovely. I was born in 1955 and at the age of six I was sure that at any moment our house was going to be bombed. Really? In Denver? In a lovely, safe home? Yes! WWII was still very much on everyone’s mind.

    • Lynda says:

      Thank you, Alicia. I think for us baby boomers it was was fear of the atomic age that kept our eyes to the skies! Remember “Duck and Cover”, and all those civil defense drills we had to go through in grade school? Ha, like getting under our desks was gonna save us…
      I agree; WWII was definitely still on our minds.

  4. talesfromthemotherland says:

    Very poignant and thought provoking, Lynda. It is truly painful to imagine what your friend and others endured, in the various wars. I told Rochelle, I spent the morning touring the Museum of Occupation in Aarhus, Denmark, this morning… the images of bombings, and war crimes left me cold. So, when I came to FF, it was not much of a leap to read your story and know just what that must be like. Really well done.

    • Lynda says:

      Thank you, Tales from the Motherland!

      I know what you felt. I felt it when I visited the Museum of Intolerance, in *Lost Angeles. It is hard to imagine why we as humans can be so barbaric to each other, and yet, sadly, it happens over and over throughout history. We never learn.

      *that was a typo, but in the end I decided it was apropos and left it in. 😉

  5. LB says:

    Just imagine your friend, sitting with her elders and hearing those horrible stories. Of course she would be impacted! In the same way that people are impacted by what they hear on the news every day.

    • Lynda says:

      TRUE! People say that we become desensitized by all the exposure, but I don’t find that to be the case. It really gets to me, and I don’t watch the news much now. Fear has reared its ugly head and hit much closer to home this week. (REF: my post “In the news…”) 😦

    • Lynda says:

      Neither did I, Pam, not till I looked it up anyway. Truthfully, If my father hadn’t been enlisted during that conflict I probably wouldn’t even know about it. I wonder why so many of the wars we are involved in are/were so newsworthy, yet this one was little talked about. (BTW, my Dad was never sent over there.)

      I’m glad you liked this FF entry; thank you!

    • Lynda says:

      Yes, I am certain that the modeled behaviors of her older family members were the cause of her response to airplanes. I do hope that when she got older she was able to get over her fear. Thank you, Susan!

  6. K.Z. says:

    excellent story and choice of title. a thought provoking piece. i like how it started so innocently, and then the sudden realization at the ending…

  7. elappleby says:

    Hi Lynda
    A sad and thought provoking little memoir.
    (pssst – tiny mistake in the second line with two words swapped round ‘we had the of best times’ – hope you don’t mind me mentioning it.)

    • Lynda says:

      I don’t mind your mentioning it all. I do have to share with you, that I reread the line about 5 or 6 times until I actually saw the mistake! Brian is playing tricks on me. 😉
      Thank you, Elapplby!

So how about that? Go on; say something!

