Friday Fictioneers: a family tradition

thoreau-banner

It’s time once again for Friday Fictioneers which is brought to you each week by Rochelle at Addicted to Purple.
Thank you, Rochelle!

~*~*~*~

~My entry for September 12, 2014 ~

~*~

ffCopyright – Janet Webb

A Family Tradition

 

The mirror had been in the family for decades. The family claimed that if a couple looked into the mirror on the night before their wedding they would see their last day together. No one had ever been disappointed.

Claire didn’t believe in such things, but not wanting to upset her new family’s tradition, she took Ray’s hand and they walked to the mirror together.  Neither said a word. They left and the wedding was cancelled.

What they saw:

Claire saw Ray walk up behind her and lop off her head with a machete.

Ray saw himself killing a Zombie.

~*~

Words: 100

~*~

For some really great takes on this weeks prompt, please look

~ HERE ~

~*~

What will you write?

Try it!

53 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers: a family tradition

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs says:

    that was really funny! thanks for the much-needed laugh.. just arrived in guayaquil after a day of work and travel..

    tomorrow night i will leave gye for houston then new orleans then the ms delta then north mississippi (new albany)

    so how far are you from there? due east?

    z

    ________________________________

    • Lynda says:

      Lisa, it is 176 miles. Google maps says it is a 3 hour drive. They lie! For me it will be a 4 hour drive. 😉 You tell me when and where and I will be there (even if it were an all day drive). Email me with the details.

      Glad you liked the story!

    • Lynda says:

      I was surprised when my husband read it and laughed, but apparently it was funnier than I realized. I thought it was kind of a jolt at the end. Humor is in the brain of the reader. :mrgreen:

  2. shoreacres says:

    I just can’t laugh at this one — not after the beheadings of the journalists, and the beheadings taking place in the Rio Grande Valley at the hands of the drug cartels. But the way you developed the story is fine. Personally, I never would look into a mirror like that. That alone would be reason enough to walk out and not marry the dude!

    • Lynda says:

      I never intended for anyone to laugh, and yet it has caused several to do so. It is generally known that the only way to kill the mythic Zombie is to behead it. As I told another commenter, “humor is in the mind of the reader.”

      I knew about the journalists, but not about the Rio Grande Valley. These are heinous and depraved acts..
      I’m sorry to have saddened you today, Linda.

      I agree with you about that mirror!

      • shoreacres says:

        Well — maybe if I knew something about zombies, my view would have been different! But here’s my confession — I’ve never read a thing about zombies, or vampires, or any of that. It’s just not my thing. I guess I probably saw Frankenstein as a kid at the movies, but the only real “horror” movie I remember is “Attack of the Killer Tomatoes”!

        Something else occurs to me. When I lived in Liberia, the machete was the weapon of choice. 😉

        • Lynda says:

          I wrote to you twice last night and managed to obliterate my comments with the flick of a finger, and not on purpose. Deciding I was tired I went to bed and promised myself to tackle this again today. 🙂

          I have never read any of these stories either. I had a general idea of how the mirror would be used, but the story kinda wrote itself. (Subliminal influences are in play here; I’m certain of it.)

          As for the use of a machete, well, my only experience with machetes has been in the movies when people in the jungle were hacking through vines, and seeing friends in Costa Rica cut down bananas with them. So, when faced with plot development and needing a weapon to dispatch a Zombie, well, this was the only tool I could think of that would get the job done.

    • Lynda says:

      Patti, They never married. Four years later, when the Zombie apocalypse is in full swing, Ray will find himself having to kill Zombified Claire. Hence. that will be their last day together, and although they say “long distance is the next best thing to being there”, you simply can’t kill a zombie unless you are in the same place at the same moment.

      The mirror is quite accurate, but there is no guarantee on what the future holds! :mrgreen:

  3. Pam Nunn says:

    Lynda, I just now got a chance to read your zombie story! It’s creepy and sad and ominous. I seriously think you could expand this to novel length. You’ve got the whole setup right there!

    Putting me in the autumnal spirit… anticipating All Hallows’ Eve…

    • Lynda says:

      Pam, there are many theories on time. Some feel that it is preordained; a straight line. Others feel that it can be altered by choice or circumstance.

      So, what if they did get married anyway? It might turn out that not being scared of the mirror’s vision, and sticking together, could have been the better outcome. You just can’t tell when it comes to free will.

      Could’a, should’a, would’a…?

      Glad you liked this one, Pam!

    • Lynda says:

      Dear Rochelle,
      It is said that, “Humor is in the brain of the reader.”
      That is a bit of little known Zombie wisdom, and they should know!
      😛
      Shalom,
      Lynda

    • Lynda says:

      Thank you, Freddie! I always imagined I’d have my novel done by now, but I have been sidetracked by 100 word stories for awhile. Lately, my leading lady had been tugging at me to get back to her story and I think I may have to give in. Can I do both, I’m not certain. Yet… wouldn’t you think any writer worth her salt should be able to multitask?

      BTW, Should I continue to call you Freddie, or would prefer another name? 😉

So how about that? Go on; say something!

